12 days to lift off… uurgh, that bloody bib necklace!

I now have 12 working days left officially till we show our new Spring Summer  2015 collection at Scoop International, so I am keeping a daily countdown diary to launch- welcome to my world! Problems, solutions, uncertainties, yet more problems and the unexpected in store!

I confess that for all my years of experience and despite my best efforts, my collection always ends up being completed on the last day and I am not joking…. samples always turn up late, costings are not finalised as a result, last minute changes need to be done, it’s as stressful as it gets . We’ve had times when with 2-3 days to go we were left wondering if we are actually going to have a new collection ready to show at all???

This time however… I have already received just about my entire bag collection as well as the balance and new additions of my Swarovski beads and as such the jewellery collection is also just about complete too.  Still, I am thinking ‘surely this can’t be right, seems far too peaceful’.

So on today’s agenda??  Sort out the problem of the blasted statement bib!!

For our AW14 catwalk, our designer Karla made up some great glass bib necklaces, a modern take on an Ancient Egyptian look- they went down a hit with press and public alike and I decided to introduce them into the mix of our SS15 collection.

statement bib in crystal and pearl

 

 

Beads in, pearls in, fittings in and we were ready to rock n roll.   Karla, our designer is currently on maternity leave and has been replaced by Sheena, who was left to figure this necklace out.  She copied the original sample bead for bead-  but just couldn’t get it to hang right!! Uurghh- so frustrating!! Trust me, these bibs are time consuming and fiddly to say the least. Having made them up 3 times now and then taken apart 3 times, Sawako our merchandiser decided that maybe we should just throw in the towel and give them up. But I don’t give up that easy, thank god neither does Sheena and we think we’ve worked out the problem… we now think that the thin wire, used on the top part and known as memory wire was in fact thin memory wire used for bracelets and earrings and not the memory wire used for necklaces…. So we’re trying again…4th time round and we’re hoping to be 4th time lucky. Memory wire arrived in the post today and we now wait with baited breath to see if Sheena can finally, finally sort this one out and’ lay it to bed’ so to speak. I will update tomorrow, rest assured!

cd12a cd12b cd12ccd12e

 

2 thoughts on “12 days to lift off… uurgh, that bloody bib necklace!

Leave a Reply

