The writing is on the wall

I confess I love Graffiti, even though it’s been sprayed onto a wall, in a public space and shouldn’t really be there. In general I find that most graffiti turns up on walls that could really do with a serious lick of paint, so in fact it really does brighten up some ‘sad’ spaces.

I’ve just returned from a whistle stop visit to Israel and spent most of my time in Jaffa, the oldest part of Tel Aviv, an ancient port city, currently undergoing massive regeneration. Many artists and young ‘trendies’ are now moving into the previously dilapidated buildings. Restoration has been kind to the old buildings, keeping the external façades and improving their condition. It’s also been kind to its mixed Arab and Israeli population and has kept a certain ‘grunge’ factor, which I find very appealing. And as for the graffiti- well, so much graffiti, I loved it,some political, some global, some topical, here are some of my favourites:

g1

Ice cream anyone?

g5

The last supper, previous heads of states and great Jewish thinkers

g4

Loved this one, found it on a garage wall

g7

Beware the giant Armadillo!

I now have a graffiti board on my Pinterest, updating as I go along in my travels and in London. Plenty more Graffiti from Jaffa so pls visit,

Nadia

2 thoughts on “The writing is on the wall

Leave a Reply

